

Arizona Historymakers™ 2025

Nominations Requested for 2025 Arizona Historymakers

The Historical League will again be honoring living men and women who have made significant contributions to the state of Arizona through outstanding achievements in such diverse areas as arts, athletics, communications, community service, education, medicine and entertainment.

Members of the Historical League, key stakeholders from historically oriented nonprofits, and Arizona Historymakers are invited to nominate living Arizona residents to be considered as a Historymaker honoree. These 2025 Historymakers will join the 90 honorees who include such outstanding Arizona citizens as Sandra Day O'Connor, the Navajo Code Talkers, Karl and Stevie Eller, and Alberto Rios. To learn more about these Historymakers and our program, visit www.historicalleague.org and click on Historymakers.

The nominations we receive will be used by our selection panel to determine who will become our 2025 Historymakers. Those selected will be honored at a Celebration at the Arizona Heritage Center Museum at Papago Park in Tempe on October 25, 2025. The highlight of the event will be a video program showcasing each Historymaker's exceptional contributions to Arizona.

Before the event, each Historymaker participates by giving an oral history that will be archived at the Arizona Historical Society's Arizona Heritage Center Library at Tempe and will be available on the League's website, www.historicalleague.org.

Nominees must be living at the time of selection, reside in the state of Arizona, and be able to give their oral histories. Political figures must not currently hold office or be running for office.

The Historical League has been honoring Arizona Historymakers since 1992 for the purpose of:

- --Recognizing and honoring living Arizonans.
- --Raising funds for education and other programs that assist the Arizona Heritage Center Museum at Papago Park.
- --Increasing awareness of the 80,000-square-foot Papago Park history museum.
- --Supporting our youth through the National History Day Arizona program.

Enclosed is the nominating ballot. Please complete and return it to the address below before Sept. 15, 2024, or email it to diana1234@aol.com. Thank you for your help. We look forward to you helping us celebrate our new Historymakers in October of 2025.

Sincerely,

Diana Smith Arizona Historymakers 2025 Program Chair

Diane Smith Arizona Historymakers 2025 Recognition Chair

